Ridin’ the bike

So….

Last week, on the 26th, we went outside to do a little playing.  The neighbors were out with their kids and Jake had the Skuut out.  Now I don’t know if you have heard of Skuut, it is something my parents saw in the SkyMall magazine the first time they came to Okinawa to visit us.  Basically it is a wooden bike with no pedals…2 wheels, a seat and a handlebar.  It is meant to help kids learn to balance so they don’t have to use training-wheels on their pedal bikes.

We just had one of our friends PCS(Permanent Change of Station) back to the states.  He has a boy about 2 years older than  Jake, who was learning how to ride a bike with training wheels.  The back tire had a hole because G had learned how to skid, so I replaced it and filled it up with air, put the whole thing back together again, with very few left over parts, and Jake got on.

This is the result of practicing with the Skuut.  This is the first time he’s ever been on a bike with pedals.

STEP 1:  Have Dad help with balance to get started.

STEP 1: Have Dad help with balance to get started.

STEP 2:  Start pedaling, maybe have Dad push a little.

STEP 2: Start pedaling, maybe have Dad push a little.

STEP 3:  Have Dad act like he's pushing but in reality he isn't, it's like a fake out.

STEP 3: Have Dad act like he's pushing but in reality he isn't, it's like a fake out.

Jo actually wrote a bit on the Skuut awhile back because the President of Skuut contacted us to see if they could use some of pictures on their website.  Pretty sweet.  She also got a video of him skuutin’ around.

Since then…that makes it sound like it’s been months…he has been riding and practicing and really doing great, riding like a professional.  Lance you better watch out…if you were 4…and in Japan…and a…well, you get the point.  I’m a proud father what can you expect.

7 thoughts on “Ridin’ the bike

  1. That’s great and barefoot, too. I love this line — which sounds like something I’d have to admit: “The back tire had a hole because G had learned how to skid, so I replaced it and filled it up with air, put the whole thing back together again, with very few left over parts, and Jake got on.”

  2. The look on Jake’s face is priceless! I enjoyed the story Brent! I agree with Dee…gotta love the barefoot pedalin’! In a couple a weeks he’s gonna be gettin’ some air off of a ramp, right? ha ha! The Skuut sounds like a great precursor to a bike!

  3. Pingback: Date With Quinn « The World of Brent

  4. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude!
    Thank you so much, However I am encountering troubles with your RSS.
    I don’t understand why I cannot join it. Is there anybody else having similar RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  5. Hi! I simply want to give you a huge thumbs up for the great
    information you have got here on this post. I am returning
    to your website for more soon.

  6. Having read this I believed it was rather informative.

    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put
    this content together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

